Tuesday, February 07, 2017

AFC Champions League Qualifying: Seven Clubs Advance To Group Stage

The AFC Champions League's playoff round commenced on Tuesday with seven games.


At Ulsan, South Korea:

After each club scored once in regulation, which was followed by 30 scoreless minutes of overtime, Ivan Kovacec, Lee Jong-ho, Lee Yeong-jae, and Kim Im-sung each converted a spot kick as Ulsan Hyundai took out visiting Kitchee SC from Hong Kong 4-3 in the penalty-kick shootout and advanced to the group stage.

At Suita, Japan:

Ademilson (28'), Shun Nagasawa (29'), and Genta Miura (70') each scored once as Gamba Osaka dominated visiting Johor Darul Ta'zim from Malaysia 3-0.

At Shanghai, China:

Oscar (34'), Elkeson (39'), and Kiattisak Toopkhuntod (OG-58') each scored once as Shanghai SIPG dominated Thailand's Sukhotai 3-0 at home.


At Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates:

Sebastian Tagliabue scored twice (24', 82') as Al-Wahda dominated visiting Al-Wehdat (Jordan) 3-0.

At Al-Hasa, Saudi Arabia:

Andre Filipe Alves Monteiro, otherwise known as Ukra, scored the only goal of the match in the first minute of first-half stoppage time as Al-Fateh defeated visiting Nasaf Qarshi from Uzbekistan 1-0.

At Tehran, Iran:

After 120 scoreless minutes, Kaveh Rezael, Ali Ghorbani, Farshid Esmaeili, and Khosro Heydari each converted a spot kick as Esteghlal defeated visiting Al-Sadd (Qatar) 4-3 in the penalty-kick shootout and advanced to the group stage.

At Doha, Qatar:

After 120 scoreless minutes, FC Bunyodkor took the penalty-kick 3-1 on the road against El Jaish and advanced to the group stage.  Ashurmatov Rustamjon, Shomurodov Eldor, and Khamdamov Dostonbek each converted a spot kick for the Uzbekistani club in the shootout.

No comments: